‘There are some things you can’t share without ending up liking each other, and dealing with a burst sprinkler is one of them.’

photo 3

Last Friday, I received the welcome news that I could move back into my room after an incident in which a sprinkler went off and flooded our hallway. Luckily, none of my personal belongings were damaged, but from Thursday the 22nd of January I was room-less along with about 30 other people. While we were all re-homed for the week, I ended up spending most of it crashing on an air-bed on my friend’s floor, as the room I was given was on another campus that wasn’t ideal for my 8.45am classes.

photo 1 photo 2

The upside to this week of uncertainty and and de-humidifiers is the bond that developed between all of the girls in my hallway. We spent a week sharing the same experience, talking to each other more and lending a hand when things were needed. Living out of a bag in a dishevelled manner is by no means ideal, but it is certainly something to write home about and a change from routine (yes I’m a silver-linings kind of person). I wouldn’t recommend a burst sprinkler as a community building exercise, but there are always positives to take from a situation, be it good or bad.

It’s like J.K. Rowling said,  ‘There are some things you can’t share without ending up liking each other, and knocking out a twelve-foot mountain troll dealing with a burst sprinkler is one of them.’

A big thank you to all the Residence staff for dealing with the situation so efficiently and getting us back into our rooms as quickly as possible. Also a huge thank you to my friends for lodgings, blankets and just general awesome friendliness. I am aware that still owe you chocolate for this service. 😛 

Make sure you check out my Instagram scoobyluce for regular post about my year in Montreal!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

