Book Bingo Challenge Update! – January

photo (5)

Apologies for the unimaginative display, I’m still trying to work out the best way to set up eBook cover photos!

My Book Bingo challenge got off to a great start in January. I managed to read three books by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle: The Hound of the Baskervilles, The Sign of Four and A Study in Scarlet. I’m currently reading The Valley of Fear, and while my progress was halted some what by an unexpected incident (see my last post for details), I am hoping to finish it over the next two weeks. This is my first experience of reading Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes, and approaching the stories after having seen a number of television and film adaptations is quite interesting. My knowledge from the other adaptations is helping me to work through the stories, as there is a sense of familiarity there, but the stories are also presenting me with a new layer to add to the TV and film versions. A win win situation really!

But Lucy, why are reading so much Arthur Conan Doyle when the whole point of the Bingo Challenge is to read widely? 

The answer to that question lies with a website that I recently stumbled across called BookBub. BookBub is a great resource for anyone who uses an e-reader (or eReader?). You sign up with your email address, select  your genre preferences and they send you daily emails detailing free or heavily discounted eBooks. The first email I received contained the details of the British Mystery Megapack Volume 5: Sherlock Holmes Collection, which amazon were selling for 99p. This eBook contains four novels, forty-three short stories and extras including audio recordings, illustrations and articles. All this for 99p, it seemed a perfect way to start my challenge!

My idea with this absolute bargain of a book bundle is to finish reading the four novels, then dip in and out of the short stories while I check off the other squares on my bingo card. Let’s just hope university work is kind enough to leave me some time to read for pleasure, although at the moment I feel like I’m going to have to make the time myself!

This post was not sponsored in any way, I just really like the concept of BookBub, and it’s led me to some great finds!

Leave a Reply

