Arrival!

BonjourHi!

That’s the greeting that I have heard the most since I’ve been in Montreal, and it’s given me bilingual envy. I’ve been served by air stewards, receptionists etc. and they just switch effortlessly. That’s the goal!
My flight was long but reasonable. No leg room is a bad thing on a long haul  flight so it was a bit uncomfortable but I managed to watch Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, a bit of Noah and an episode of Friends. Immigration was surprisingly quick and easy, and I was struggling with my luggage and on the way to the hotel in no time. The hotel was beautiful and everyone was extremely nice. The best part of my stay was watching Canadian and Quebecois television. I saw a bit of Legally Blonde Two dubbed in French and some morning news programme where I could understand the headlines but not much else. The jewel in the TV crown however, was the one channel showing BBC coverage of the Belgium Grand Prix and another channel showing it in French. I did wimp out and watch the BBC, but it was familiar and I just wanted to watch racing seeing I missed qualifying.

Today (24th of August) has been brilliant also. Apart from being able to watch the race, I managed to catch the shuttle bus to downtown and find the Residence whilst lugging my heavy suitcase. I’d call that a win! The bonus was sitting next to a friendly man, who asked me (in French) whether I was on my holiday. I then proceeded to tell him (in French) that I was studying for the year. The conversation was only small talk, where did I go to university in England, did I come from London (typical) but it was all in French and that’s what matters. But anyway, he was a nice friendly face that has really helped me feel at ease, especially his joke about an English person speaking French. 🙂

The Residence (halls) here are beautiful, and my room is so much bigger than the one I had in halls at home. It is exactly what you’d picture an American college dorm to be like (except it’s in Canada). There are two RAs who look after the floor, which is full of rooms. Everyone is very helpful, but it’s a weird cultural difference. Not that people aren’t helpful in the UK, but this is VERY helpful. Like helping you move into your room and doing the itinerary check. It’s brilliant because I didn’t have to do it, but when I moved into my halls first year, we moved ourselves in. I’ll post some pictures of my room in a later post, because right now it’s not exactly how I want it. But don’t worry, I’ll do before and after pictures!

There’s a trip to IKEA organised for Sunday, so pictures should be good after that.

Salut a tous!

Leave a Reply

